Highlights
- Opening one unit is estimated at $101,630 to $233,780, including a $2,000 initial fee.p.25
- Kumon makes no financial performance representation: the filing gives no unit revenue, cost or profit figures, and no one selling the franchise may quote any.p.55
- The system went from 1,646 outlets at the start of 2023 to 1,710 at the end of 2025, a net gain of 64.p.55
- Item 3 discloses 0 matters.
Tools, from this filing's numbers
Cash you would need to open
The filing's Item 7 range, $101,630 to $233,780, is an estimate for one unit including only its first months. Slide between the low and high cases and add the months of runway you want beyond that.
Monthly operating cash is taken as one-twelfth of your weekly-sales figure above times 52 (set to $15,000 a week here), a placeholder for rent, labor and food until you have your own budget.
Total outlets, 2022 to 2025
Compare Kumon with another brand
Side by side, every figure cited.
Fees (Items 5 and 6)
| Initial franchise fee, standard | $2,000 | p.14 |
| Royalty | not stated | |
| Advertising fund | not stated | |
| Technology fee | held for review |
The filing lists every recurring and conditional fee in Item 6.
Estimated initial investment (Item 7)
| Expenditure | Low | High | |
|---|---|---|---|
| TRAINING AGREEMENT DEPOSIT FEE | $1,000 | $1,000 | p.23 |
| INITIAL PURCHASE OF MATERIALS | $2,000 | $2,000 | p.23 |
| INITIAL FRANCHISE FEE | $2,000 | $3,000 | p.23 |
| PRE-OPENING MARKETING SPEND | $2,500 | $2,500 | p.24 |
| ARCHITECT DESIGN | $0 | $15,000 | p.24 |
| LEASEHOLD IMPROVEMENTS | $40,000 | $90,000 | p.24 |
| SECURITY DEPOSIT, IF REQUIRED | $0 | $30,000 | p.24 |
| RENT | $9,000 | $27,000 | p.24 |
| FURNITURE, EQUIPMENT, SIGNAGE & SUPPLIES | $9,000 | $11,000 | p.24 |
| NOTEBOOK COMPUTERS & TABLETS AT KUMON CENTER | $2,000 | $4,000 | p.24 |
| PROFESSIONAL FEES | $1,000 | $5,000 | p.24 |
| LIABILITY INSURANCE | $580 | $580 | p.24 |
| BUSINESS LICENSE, NAME REGISTRATION | $100 | $200 | p.24 |
| RECOMMENDED READING LIST | $3,000 | $3,700 | p.25 |
| FINGERPRINTING, CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECK | $50 | $100 | p.25 |
| PAYROLL COST FOR ASSISTANTS (3 Months) | $11,000 | $14,000 | p.25 |
| SAM Prevention Training | $400 | $600 | p.25 |
| ADDITIONAL FUNDS (3 months) | $19,000 | $25,000 | p.25 |
| KUMON LEAD MANAGEMENT SYSTEM | $0 | $100 | p.25 |
| Total | $101,630 | $233,780 | p.25 |
Revenue (Item 19)
Kumon makes no financial performance representation in this filing. The franchisor publishes no unit sales, costs or profits in the document, and no one selling you the franchise may quote numbers outside it.p.55
Units (Item 20)
| Type | Year | Start | End | Net | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| franchised | 2023 | 1,618 | 1,637 | 19 | p.55 |
| company owned | 2023 | 28 | 22 | -6 | p.55 |
| total | 2023 | 1,646 | 1,659 | 13 | p.55 |
| franchised | 2024 | 1,637 | 1,671 | 34 | p.55 |
| company owned | 2024 | 22 | 18 | -4 | p.55 |
| total | 2024 | 1,659 | 1,689 | 30 | p.55 |
| franchised | 2025 | 1,671 | 1,705 | 34 | p.55 |
| company owned | 2025 | 18 | 5 | -13 | p.55 |
| total | 2025 | 1,689 | 1,710 | 21 | p.55 |
Litigation (Item 3)
The filing states no litigation is required to be disclosed.p.14
Scorecard
Rank among the brands on this site that report the figure, on each list's own direction. No blended grade. How the lists work.
| Cost to open | $101,630 | 1 of 51 |
| Royalty plus ad fund | held | held |
| Three-year unit growth | 3.9% | 34 of 54 |
| Closure rate | held | held |
| Discloses unit revenue | no | |
| Litigation disclosed | 0 | 24 of 26, 1 = most |
Source
Wisconsin Department of Financial Institutions franchise filing 640500, effective 3/27/2026, expires 3/27/2027. Extracted 2026-09-04 by two independent readers; only figures both agreed on, whose quoted words appear on the cited page, are shown. 8 fields held for review. How this works.