FDDIndex 63 brands · 46 reports · last run 2026-09-04 02:30

Mathnasium

Mathnasium Franchisor LLC · education childcare · FDD 2026 · WI filing 641614 · effective 5/5/2026

Investment$127,316to $165,846p.30
Fee$49,000p.22
Royalty + adheld
Item 19Nonep.60
Units, 20251,047p.65
3-yr growth9.7%
Closures 20251.5%
Litigation0

Highlights

  • Opening one unit is estimated at $127,316 to $165,846, including a $49,000 initial fee.p.30
  • Mathnasium discloses unit performance in Item 19.p.60
  • The system went from 954 outlets at the start of 2023 to 1,047 at the end of 2025, a net gain of 93.p.65
  • In 2025, closures of all kinds equalled 1.5% of the outlets open at the start of the year.
  • Item 3 discloses 0 matters.p.20

Tools, from this filing's numbers

Cash you would need to open

The filing's Item 7 range, $127,316 to $165,846, is an estimate for one unit including only its first months. Slide between the low and high cases and add the months of runway you want beyond that.

Monthly operating cash is taken as one-twelfth of your weekly-sales figure above times 52 (set to $15,000 a week here), a placeholder for rent, labor and food until you have your own budget.

$0Item 7 estimate at this point in the range
$03 months of operating cash
$0cash to have in hand

Where the units went in 2025

Every outlet that opened, and every one that left, drawn from Item 20 Table 3 to scale.p.71

0 terminated0 non-renewed0 reacquired15 ceased, other995start of 2025+63 opened1,043end of 2025

Total outlets, 2022 to 2025

20229542023972202499920251,047

Compare Mathnasium with another brand

Side by side, every figure cited.

Fees (Items 5 and 6)

Initial franchise fee, standard$49,000p.22
Royaltynot stated
Advertising fundnot stated
Technology fee$266 per month per Mathnasium Centerp.25

The filing lists every recurring and conditional fee in Item 6. The report carries all of them.

Estimated initial investment (Item 7)

ExpenditureLowHigh
Expenses While Training$2,500$3,000p.29
Technology Fee$266$1,596p.29
Rent (1st and last month's rent)$6,000$14,000p.30
Paint, Carpet and Tenant Improvements$8,000$14,500p.30
Furniture, Signs, Equipment and Supplies$17,000$25,000p.30
Insurance$1,500$1,750p.30
Business License, Name Registration$250$1,000p.30
Professional Services (Legal and/or Accounting)$1,300$2,000p.30
Phone and Utilities$500$1,000p.30
Video surveillance and related equipment$500$2,500p.30
Pre-Open Advertising$5,500$5,500p.30
Additional Funds (4 Months)$35,000$45,000p.30
Total$127,316$165,846p.30

Revenue (Item 19)

Mathnasium reports average and median annual Gross Receipts for January 1, 2025 through December 31, 2025.p.60 What the figure measures, which units were excluded and what it leaves out are in the report.

Units (Item 20)

TypeYearStartEndNet
franchised202395196817p.65
company owned2023341p.65
total202395497218p.65
franchised202496899527p.65
company owned2024440p.65
total202497299927p.65
franchised20259951,04348p.65
company owned2025440p.65
total20259991,04748p.65

Openings and closures, system totals (Table 3)

YearStartOpenedTerminatedNon-renewedReacquiredCeased, otherEnd
20239514300125968p.71
20249684700020995p.71
202599563000151,043p.71

Arithmetic checks flagged: item7: low lines sum to 78316, total says 127316; item7: high lines sum to 116846, total says 165846. The figures shown are as filed.

Litigation (Item 3)

0 pending cases described.p.20 Counts are of distinct matters as the filing describes them; the report carries each one in plain words.

Scorecard

Rank among the brands on this site that report the figure, on each list's own direction. No blended grade. How the lists work.

Cost to open$127,3163 of 51
Royalty plus ad fundheldheld
Three-year unit growth9.7%23 of 54
Closure rate, 20251.5%37 of 51, 1 = most
Discloses unit revenueyes
Litigation disclosed025 of 26, 1 = most

Source

Wisconsin Department of Financial Institutions franchise filing 641614, effective 5/5/2026, expires 5/5/2027. Extracted 2026-09-04 by two independent readers; only figures both agreed on, whose quoted words appear on the cited page, are shown. 5 fields held for review. How this works.