FDDIndex 69 brands · 68 reports · last run 2026-09-04 08:32

Snap-on

Snap-on Tools Company LLC · other · FDD 2026 · WI filing 641106 · effective 4/20/2026

Report being written
Investment$223,439to $509,283p.26
Fee$16,000p.18
Royalty + adheld
Item 19Held
Units, 20253,328p.72
3-yr growth-2.4%
Closures 20257.2%
Litigationheld

Highlights

  • Opening one unit is estimated at $223,439 to $509,283, including a $16,000 initial fee.p.26
  • The system went from 3,409 outlets at the start of 2023 to 3,328 at the end of 2025, a net loss of 81.p.72
  • In 2025, closures of all kinds equalled 7.2% of the outlets open at the start of the year.

Tools, from this filing's numbers

Cash you would need to open

The filing's Item 7 range, $223,439 to $509,283, is an estimate for one unit including only its first months. Slide between the low and high cases and add the months of runway you want beyond that.

Monthly operating cash is taken as one-twelfth of your weekly-sales figure above times 52 (set to $15,000 a week here), a placeholder for rent, labor and food until you have your own budget.

$0Item 7 estimate at this point in the range
$03 months of operating cash
$0cash to have in hand

Where the units went in 2025

Every outlet that opened, and every one that left, drawn from Item 20 Table 3 to scale.p.79

4 terminated1 non-renewed227 reacquired0 ceased, other3,201start of 2025+195 opened3,159end of 2025

Total outlets, 2022 to 2025

20223,40920233,37820243,34420253,328

Compare Snap-on with another brand

Side by side, every figure cited.

Fees (Items 5 and 6)

Initial franchise fee, standard$16,000p.18
Royaltynot stated
Advertising fundnot stated
Technology fee$94.00p.20

The filing lists every recurring and conditional fee in Item 6.

Revenue (Item 19)

Item 19 is held for review: the two readers disagreed. See the run log.

Units (Item 20)

TypeYearStartEndNet
franchised20233,2703,238-32p.72
company owned20231391401p.72
total20233,4093,378-31p.72
franchised20243,2383,201-37p.72
company owned20241401433p.72
total20243,3783,344-34p.72
franchised20253,2013,159-42p.72
company owned202514316926p.72
total20253,3443,328-16p.72

Openings and closures, system totals (Table 3)

YearStartOpenedTerminatedNon-renewedReacquiredCeased, otherEnd
20233,2701670019203,238p.79
20243,2381822021203,201p.79
20253,2011954122703,159p.79

Arithmetic checks flagged: Item 20 Table 3 does not foot for 2023: start + opened - closures = 3,245, filing states 3238; Item 20 Table 3 does not foot for 2024: start + opened - closures = 3,206, filing states 3201; Item 20 Table 3 does not foot for 2025: start + opened - closures = 3,164, filing states 3159. The figures shown are as filed.

Litigation (Item 3)

Item 3 has not been read for this filing yet, or the two readers disagreed and it is held for review.

Scorecard

Rank among the brands on this site that report the figure, on each list's own direction. No blended grade. How the lists work.

Cost to open$223,43914 of 61
Royalty plus ad fundheldheld
Three-year unit growth-2.4%47 of 61
Closure rate, 20257.2%9 of 58, 1 = most
Discloses unit revenueheld
Litigation disclosedheldheld

Source

Wisconsin Department of Financial Institutions franchise filing 641106, effective 4/20/2026, expires 4/20/2027. Extracted 2026-09-04 by two independent readers; only figures both agreed on, whose quoted words appear on the cited page, are shown. 34 fields held for review. How this works.