FDDIndex 63 brands · 46 reports · last run 2026-09-04 02:30

Valvoline

Valvoline Instant Oil Change Franchising, Inc. · auto · FDD 2025 · WI filing 640069 · effective 12/29/2025

Report being written
Investment$192,375to $3,483,550p.25
Fee$30,000p.16
Royalty + adheld
Item 19Nonep.60
Units, 20252,039p.69
3-yr growth27.9%
Closures 20250.8%
Litigation1

Highlights

  • Opening one unit is estimated at $192,375 to $3,483,550, including a $30,000 initial fee.p.25
  • Valvoline discloses unit performance in Item 19.p.60
  • The system went from 1,594 outlets at the start of 2023 to 2,039 at the end of 2025, a net gain of 445.p.69
  • In 2025, closures of all kinds equalled 0.8% of the outlets open at the start of the year.
  • Item 3 discloses 1 matter.p.15

Tools, from this filing's numbers

Cash you would need to open

The filing's Item 7 range, $192,375 to $3,483,550, is an estimate for one unit including only its first months. Slide between the low and high cases and add the months of runway you want beyond that.

Monthly operating cash is taken as one-twelfth of your weekly-sales figure above times 52 (set to $15,000 a week here), a placeholder for rent, labor and food until you have your own budget.

$0Item 7 estimate at this point in the range
$03 months of operating cash
$0cash to have in hand

Where the units went in 2025

Every outlet that opened, and every one that left, drawn from Item 20 Table 3 to scale.p.74

2 terminated0 non-renewed6 reacquired0 ceased, other962start of 2025+117 opened1,071end of 2025

Total outlets, 2022 to 2025

20221,59420231,72320241,87520252,039

Compare Valvoline with another brand

Side by side, every figure cited.

Fees (Items 5 and 6)

Initial franchise fee, standard$30,000p.16
Royaltynot stated
Advertising fundnot stated
Technology feeheld for review

The filing lists every recurring and conditional fee in Item 6.

Estimated initial investment (Item 7)

ExpenditureLowHigh
License Fee$30,000$30,000p.24
Land and Improvements Purchased$1,550,000$2,750,000p.24
Land and Improvements Leased for Three Months$12,500$24,500p.24
Grand Opening Advertising$7,500$10,000p.24
Training$5,000$10,000p.24
Security Deposits$500$11,500p.24
Insurance$10,000$15,000p.24
Start up Supplies$22,000$30,000p.24
Initial Inventory of VALVOLINE® Products$28,750$62,050p.24
Equipment and Service Systems$10,000$350,000p.24
Signage Leased for Three Months$1,125$1,500p.25
Signage Purchased$45,000$120,000p.25
Point-of-Sale System$15,000$30,000p.25
Additional Funds for Three Months$50,000$65,000p.25
Total$192,375$3,483,550p.25

Revenue (Item 19)

Valvoline reports a financial performance figure.p.60 What the figure measures, which units were excluded and what it leaves out are in the report.

Units (Item 20)

TypeYearStartEndNet
franchised202382787952p.69
company owned202376784477p.69
total20231,5941,723129p.69
franchised202487996283p.69
company owned202484491369p.69
total20241,7231,875152p.69
franchised20259621,063101p.69
company owned202591397663p.69
total20251,8752,039164p.69

Openings and closures, system totals (Table 3)

YearStartOpenedTerminatedNon-renewedReacquiredCeased, otherEnd
2023827540002879p.74
2024879900051963p.74
202596211720601,071p.74

Arithmetic checks flagged: item7: low lines sum to 1787375, total says 192375. The figures shown are as filed.

Litigation (Item 3)

1 pending case described.p.15 0 actions filed by the franchisor against franchisees in the last fiscal year.p.15 Counts are of distinct matters as the filing describes them; the report carries each one in plain words.

Scorecard

Rank among the brands on this site that report the figure, on each list's own direction. No blended grade. How the lists work.

Cost to open$192,37510 of 51
Royalty plus ad fundheldheld
Three-year unit growth27.9%9 of 54
Closure rate, 20250.8%44 of 51, 1 = most
Discloses unit revenueyes
Litigation disclosed19 of 26, 1 = most

Source

Wisconsin Department of Financial Institutions franchise filing 640069, effective 12/29/2025, expires 12/29/2026. Extracted 2026-09-04 by two independent readers; only figures both agreed on, whose quoted words appear on the cited page, are shown. 7 fields held for review. How this works.