Highlights
- Opening one unit is estimated at $339,945 to $646,195, including a $42,500 initial fee.p.27
- Waxing the City discloses unit performance in Item 19: Average Total Gross Revenues of $478,025.p.60
- The system went from 139 outlets at the start of 2023 to 167 at the end of 2025, a net gain of 28.p.64
- In 2025, closures of all kinds equalled 9.9% of the outlets open at the start of the year.
- Item 3 discloses 0 matters.p.14
Tools, from this filing's numbers
Cash you would need to open
The filing's Item 7 range, $339,945 to $646,195, is an estimate for one unit including only its first months. Slide between the low and high cases and add the months of runway you want beyond that.
Monthly operating cash is taken as one-twelfth of your weekly-sales figure above times 52 (set to $15,000 a week here), a placeholder for rent, labor and food until you have your own budget.
Where the units went in 2025
Every outlet that opened, and every one that left, drawn from Item 20 Table 3 to scale.p.69
Total outlets, 2022 to 2025
Compare Waxing the City with another brand
Side by side, every figure cited.
Fees (Items 5 and 6)
| Initial franchise fee, standard | $42,500 | p.15 |
| Royalty | not stated | |
| Advertising fund | not stated | |
| Technology fee | held for review |
The filing lists every recurring and conditional fee in Item 6.
Estimated initial investment (Item 7)
| Expenditure | Low | High | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Franchise Fee | $42,500 | $42,500 | p.26 |
| Travel and Living Expenses While Training | $1,395 | $2,640 | p.26 |
| Leasehold Improvements | $114,200 | $277,720 | p.26 |
| Construction Management Fees | $0 | $12,500 | p.26 |
| Architect/Design Fees | $11,085 | $21,530 | p.26 |
| Furniture, Fixtures and Equipment | $39,405 | $59,809 | p.26 |
| Office Supplies | $3,500 | $4,500 | p.26 |
| Technology Package and Licenses | $13,084 | $25,806 | p.26 |
| Interior & Exterior Signage | $16,500 | $34,800 | p.26 |
| Initial Retail Inventory | $5,578 | $6,108 | p.26 |
| Initial Waxing Supply Inventory | $8,078 | $8,372 | p.26 |
| Grand Opening Advertising | $25,000 | $25,000 | p.26 |
| Insurance | $2,550 | $2,850 | p.26 |
| Miscellaneous Expenses | $4,270 | $7,100 | p.26 |
| 3 Months' Rent and Security Deposit | $18,200 | $30,300 | p.26 |
| Additional Funds and Working Capital for First 3 Months | $34,600 | $84,660 | p.27 |
| Total | $339,945 | $646,195 | p.27 |
Revenue (Item 19)
Waxing the City reports Average Total Gross Revenues of $478,025.p.61 What the figure measures, which units were excluded and what it leaves out are in the report.
Units (Item 20)
| Type | Year | Start | End | Net | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| franchised | 2023 | 133 | 150 | 17 | p.64 |
| company owned | 2023 | 6 | 0 | -6 | p.64 |
| total | 2023 | 139 | 150 | 11 | p.64 |
| franchised | 2024 | 150 | 151 | 1 | p.64 |
| company owned | 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | p.64 |
| total | 2024 | 150 | 151 | 1 | p.64 |
| franchised | 2025 | 151 | 167 | 16 | p.64 |
| company owned | 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | p.64 |
| total | 2025 | 151 | 167 | 16 | p.64 |
Openings and closures, system totals (Table 3)
| Year | Start | Opened | Terminated | Non-renewed | Reacquired | Ceased, other | End | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2023 | 133 | 22 | 4 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 150 | p.69 |
| 2024 | 150 | 17 | 16 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 151 | p.69 |
| 2025 | 151 | 31 | 15 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 167 | p.69 |
Litigation (Item 3)
0 pending cases described.p.14 0 cases brought by franchisees or former franchisees.p.14 Counts are of distinct matters as the filing describes them; the report carries each one in plain words.
Scorecard
Rank among the brands on this site that report the figure, on each list's own direction. No blended grade. How the lists work.
| Cost to open | $339,945 | 23 of 51 |
| Royalty plus ad fund | held | held |
| Three-year unit growth | 20.1% | 12 of 54 |
| Closure rate, 2025 | 9.9% | 5 of 51, 1 = most |
| Discloses unit revenue | yes | |
| Litigation disclosed | 0 | 21 of 26, 1 = most |
Source
Wisconsin Department of Financial Institutions franchise filing 640667, effective 3/31/2026, expires 3/31/2027. Extracted 2026-09-03 by two independent readers; only figures both agreed on, whose quoted words appear on the cited page, are shown. 5 fields held for review. How this works.